The 14th International Conference on Wireless Personal Multimedia Communications (WPMC 2011)

The International Conference on Wireless Personal Multimedia Communications 2011 was held in Brest, France, on October 3-7, 2011, under the co-sponsorship of YRP R&D Promotion Committee and National Institute of Information and Communications Technology.

The WPMC Symposia series was inaugurated in 1998 at Yokosuka Research Park, Japan, as a forum for enabling collaboration in the field of wireless multimedia communications. Over the years WPMC has been held in various countries in the world and has established itself as a unique global symposium dedicated to wireless multimedia convergence.

In this 14th WPMC, Images et Reseaux Cluster and Technopole Brest-Iroise, France, became the host organizations, and the symposium was held in close cooperation with Telecom Bretagne, and Brest Metropole Oceane Communaute Urbaine at the convention hall gLe Quartzh centered in Brest city.

The main theme for WPMC 2011 was gCommunications, Networking and Applications for the Internet of Things,h and papers were called on the following 4 topics; gTransmission Technologiesh, gWireless Networksh, gApplication and Servicesh, and gSystems and Regulation.h

As a result, 204 papers were submitted in total, out of which 149 were accepted, and 244 people from 33 countries participated in the symposium.

At the Opening Ceremony in the morning of Oct. 4, welcome addresses were given by Mr. Vincent MARCATE, President of Images et Reseaux Cluster, followed by the remarks of Mr. Marc Labbey, President of Technopole Brest-Iroise, and Prof. Dr. Mitsutoshi Hatori, Chairman of YRP R&D Promotion Committee.In the evening of Oct. 5, Dr. Naoto Kadowaki, Director General, Wireless Network Research Institute made an address representing NICT.

Next year, the 15th WPMC symposium will be held in Taipei, Taiwan, on 24-27 September 2012.


Mr. Vincent MARCATE, 
President of Images et Reseaux Cluster
Mr. Marc Labbey,
President of Technopole Brest-Iroise
Opening Ceremony
Prof. Dr. Mitsutoshi Hatori,
Chairman of YRP R&D Promotion Committee

Dr. Naoto Kadowaki,
Director General of NICT
Wireless Network Research Institute

Conference Hall

Winners of Student Best Paper Award:    
Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya / Faouzi Bouali
gA Framework Based on a Fittingness Factor to Enable Efficient Exploitation of Spectrum Opportunities in Cognitive Radio Networksh
University of Oulu / Jarkko Kaleva
gZero-Forcing Spatial Interweave with Greedy Schedulingh
IETR - INSA Rennes / Hussein Kdouh
gApplying Ubiquitous Wireless Technologies For Shipboard Monitoring Systemsh

Winners of Best Paper Award:

Symposium venue gLe Quartzh
@ Ireland
University College Dublin / Patrick McDonagh
gInvestigation of Scalable Video Delivery using H.264 SVC on an LTE Networkh
Kyoto University / Megumi Kaneko
gFairness-Constrained Rate Enhancing Superposition Coding Scheme for a Cellular Relay Systemh
San Diego State University / Frederick Harris
gAn Efficient Channelizer Tree for Portable Software Defined Radiosh
Symposium venue gLe Quartzh
Award Winners
All Rights Reserved, Copyright (C) YRP R&D Promotion Committee